Tuesday, April 29, 2014

Top Ten Books To Read If You Like These TV shows, movies, plays etc.

To learn more about Top Ten Tuesday or see a list of future topics click here! (they are updated btw!)

 

 

Jamie's picks:

If you like the movie Captain Phillips,  read: Hostage Three by Nick Lake: PIRATES!

If you like the show Roswell, read: Alienated by Melissa Landers: Hot alien boys on earth! As soon as I read the summary for this one I was like ROSWELL?!

If you like the movie Sliding Doors
, read: Pivot Point by Kasie West: Granted there is more of a paranormal element to Pivot Point (thought it really feels mostly contemporary), there's the playing out of two paths depending on the choice the main character makes + romance element!

If you like tv show Supernatural, read: Unbreakable by Kami Garcia: I haven't read this one but my teen niece LOVED it when I gave it to her for Christmas and she couldn't stop talking about it/spoiling the whole thing for me. She kept saying it had all the same kind of elements that made her love the show (which I JUST started!).

If you like the tv show Hart of Dixie, read: Where I Belong by Gwendolyn Heasley: I bought this one on my Kindle a while ago and was just going through my Kindle today and I was like OH MY GOSH PERFECT FOR THIS TOPIC. City girls moving to the country -- albeit different age and for different reasons!

Julia's Picks:

If you like Game of Thrones, read: The Kingskiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss
I feel like this is sort of cheating since Game of Thrones is a book, too. But whatever. Sunday's episode rocked my world and it's all I've been able to obsess over. Anyhoo, taking about another unfinished but rocking fantasy series, The Kingskiller Chronicles are great. It starts with The Name of the Wind and moves on to A Wise Man's Fear. Both are really good and in the vein of A Song of Ice and Fire.

If you like Downton Abby, read: The Abandoned at the Altar series by Laura Lee Guhrke
While not without it's flaws, the Abandoned at the Altar series is historical romance set smack dab in the Edwardian Era, so right around the beginning of Downton Abby. It features the new fangled invention of cars and turn of the certury awesomeness with some good romance thrown in. The first book, Wedding of the Season, did not impress me overmuch, but the second, Scandal of the Year, was great and the third, Trouble at the Wedding, was fine.

If you like The Big Bang Theory, read: The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion
I have yet to read this puppy, but it is ready and waiting on my Nook. Since I haven't read it I am not sure if this is a romance novel or a novel with romantic elements, but it centers around a scientist who decides to do an experiement to scientifically find a wife for him. It would be like if Sheldon decided to embark on a quest to find the perfect woman for him. But in the process the doctor meets Rosie, a woman who decidedly does not meet his criteria. I bet you can guess what happens. Lots of good buzz around this one!

If you like Sherlock Holmes (the one with RDJ), read: The Iron Duke by Meljean Brook
Another romance book here, but this one is super awesome and steampunky too. The heroine is the investigator and she get's saddled with the Duke after a series of unfortunate events. It's a series and I can't wait to read more. I should get on that.

If you like the Travel Channel + Food Network, read: Shark's Fin and Sichuan Pepper by Fuchsia Dunlap
This book is a cookbook plus travel memoir. I really enjoyed reading about her experiences with ex-pat life in China, which included the struggle to become trained as a Sichuan chef. I have a soft spot in my heart for Sichuan province and the food, since it was my home for a year, but this was truly a good book. Recipes are included and I think I've done a variation or two of the ones in there.

So what about you? Do you have any 'If This Read That' to share? Let us know in the comments and/or link up your own lists!





17 comments :

  1. I like how you guys based it on TV shows!
    Since I'm in the middle of Fairy Tale Fortnight, I based mine on If You Like Frozen! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Definitely agree with Unbreakable and Supernatural. Two brothers hunting demons and killing things? Oh yes!

    I think I'll check out Where I belong. I adore Hart of Dixie and think this novel sounds great. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have been debating reading Alienated for a while and now that I see it paired with Roswell it is definitely moving up my TBR! I definitely agree with Unbreakable and Supernatural, I feel like a whole list could be made of books if you like Supernatural and now I am really kicking myself for not thinking of that. Great list! =)

    ReplyDelete
  4. I think I'm definitely going to have to check out Alienated now!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I am listening to The Rosie Project right now and I LOVE IT! It is SO SIMILAR to Sheldon! ;-)
    Great list!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Well, you just totally sold me on Unbreakable! And I've love the Kingkiller Chronicles!! I'm waiting (and waiting) for the next Rothfuss and Martin books, but both authors are worth agonizing over the long breaks in between books.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Rothfuss just announced a new book! Not book three but a book about Auri. It's something :-)

      Delete
  7. I am watching Supernatural for the first time myself! I just started season 3 and I am really loving it!! So Now I want to read Unbreakable!

    ReplyDelete
  8. I have to read Unbreakable.

    Fun TTT idea! I made X = British TV.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I loved this topic because it made me "review" all the series in my mind that I really like.

    Marianne from Let's Read

    ReplyDelete
  10. I like that you did a bunch of different ones and I love that you did Game of Thrones. I was thinking about that but because it was already a book I ended up doing Downton Abbey, another one of Julia's picks!
    Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    ReplyDelete
  11. I really never got into Rosewood, I was more of a Dawson's Creek fan, but Alienated looks really fun. And yes, good-lookin' alien guys always sounds nice...maybe that's one reason I love The Doctor so much! :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. I couldn't get it together to participate this week, but Philip Rock's Greville Family Saga is said to be good for Downton Abbey fans. Manor of Secrets by Katherine Longshore is said to be good for DA fans too.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love Rosewell, Supernatural, The Big Bang Theory and Sherlock Holmes! I'm going to check out Alienated by Melissa Landers. That looks good, and I just love Alien books. :) Great topic this week.


    My Top Ten Tuesday

    Whitney@Shooting Stars Reviews

    ReplyDelete
  14. Alienated is already on my to-read list. Looks like I need to go look into The Kingskiller Chronicles though. :)
    Here is My TTT

    ReplyDelete
  15. Sliding Doors is one of my favorite of all time, so I was excited to see a book recommended based on it. This is such a cool idea. Thanks!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Sooooo, I did the link-up last week but I forgot to add my link and now it says it's closed! So here's the link, in a comment: http://musingsfromnevillesnavel.wordpress.com/2014/05/03/ten-books-to-read-if-you-watch-doctor-who/

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts with Thumbnails
 
Site Design By Designer Blogs Content © 2012 The Broke and the Bookish. All Rights Reserved